Gastroentérologie

La gastroentérologie est une discipline de la médecine axée sur la prévention, le diagnostic et le traitement des maladies de l’appareil digestif, notamment les organes suivants :

  • Appendice
  • Œsophage
  • Estomac
  • Intestin
  • Vésicule biliaire
  • Colon
  • Rectum
  • Voies biliaires
  • Pancréas
  • Foie

Si vous êtes renvoyé à l’équipe de gastroentérologie, vous pourrez subir l’un des deux types d’interventions suivantes : une endoscopie diagnostique qui permet à votre équipe soignante d’examiner une partie de votre appareil digestif pour fin de diagnostic, par exemple, la coloscopie, la gastroscopie et la sigmoïdoscopie. Vous pouvez subir ces interventions en tant que patient hospitalisé ou externe.

Le deuxième type d’intervention est l’endoscopie thérapeutique. Elle permet à votre équipe soignante de pratiquer un traitement à l’aide d’un endoscope (instrument muni d’une source lumineuse), par exemple pour l’excision de polypes, la pose d’une endoprothèse ou le retrait d’un corps étranger de votre tube digestif.

La gastroentérologie est répartie en deux volets distincts : les soins aux patients hospitalisés et les soins aux patients en clinique ambulatoire. 

Soins aux patients hospitalisés

Si vous êtes hospitalisé à l’Hôpital général de Kingston, on vous donnera une chambre dans l’un des étages Médecine, soit Connell 3, Connell 9 ou Connell 10, ou Kidd 9. Si vous souhaitez trouver un patient hospitalisé, utilisez notre page Localiser ou contacter un patient.

Une équipe de soins pluridisciplinaire vous prodiguera les soins nécessaires lorsque vous êtes hospitalisé. La composition de l’équipe dépendra du type de soins dont vous avez besoin. Ces équipes interprofessionnelles comprennent toujours des médecins et des infirmières, mais aussi des aides-soignants, des ergothérapeutes, des travailleurs sociaux, des physiothérapeutes et des diététistes, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns. En tant que patient hospitalisé, un gastroentérologue (médecin spécialiste qui voit au diagnostic et au traitement des maladies du tube digestif) vous examinera probablement. Lorsque vous êtes à l’HGK, vous pouvez toujours compter sur l’aide d’un éventail de spécialistes qui jouent un rôle clé dans votre parcours de santé. Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur les personnes que vous rencontrerez dans le cadre du programme de médecine, visitez notre page Équipe de soins.

Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur ce à quoi vous attendre en tant que patient hospitalisé à l’HGK, consultez notre page Pendant votre séjour.

Soins aux patients en clinique ambulatoire

En tant que patient externe, vous pouvez vous rendre à une clinique de gastroentérologie à l’Hôpital Hôtel-Dieu. Cette clinique reçoit des patients pour des soins gastro-intestinaux généraux, mais propose aussi des cliniques spécialisées pour les maladies hépatiques, l’hépatite, les maladies inflammatoires de l’intestin, la motilité et une clinique gastro-intestinale pédiatrique. Pour être reçu dans cette clinique, vous devez être renvoyé par votre médecin ou un professionnel de la santé.

Gastroenterology

Gastroenterology is the branch of medicine focused on preventing, diagnosing and treating diseases of the digestive system. This includes disorders of the:

  • Appendix 
  • Esophagus 
  • Stomach 
  • Intestine 
  • Gall bladder 
  • Colon 
  • Rectum 
  • Bile ducts 
  • Pancreas
  • Liver

If you are referred to the Gastroenterology team, you may undergo one of two types of procedures. The first type is called a diagnostic endoscopy, which allows your health-care team to see a part of your digestive system which may help them diagnose your condition. Examples of a diagnostic endoscopy procedure are a colonoscopy, gastroscopy and sigmoidoscopy. These procedures can either be done as an inpatient or outpatient. 

The second type of procedure is a therapeutic endoscopy. This is a procedure that is carried out so that your health-care team can deliver therapy using an endoscope (device with a light attached). An example of this might be a procedure to remove polyps, insert a stent or remove a foreign body from your digestive tract. 

Testing before procedures

In an effort to keep everyone safe while visiting or working at KHSC, we are now requiring that ALL patients coming for outpatient procedures that involve the upper airway have a Covid-19 test completed.

A staff member from KHSC will call you three-five days prior to your appointment to arrange a COVID-19 test at the Assessment Centre in Kingston.

Important information about testing:

Regardless of where you live and the colour of your public health zone, all patients coming to KHSC for outpatient procedures that involve the upper airway must have a swab completed within three days prior to their appointment. This includes:

  • Upper Gastrointestinal endoscopies
  • Bronchoscopies

KHSC staff will book the COVID test for you at the Beechgrove Assessment Centre in Kingston. Your results will be collected at KHSC and added to your patient file in time for your procedure.

After you have had your COVID-19 test, we recommend that you self-isolate until the day of your appointment. If you interact with anyone, you must wear a mask.

Inpatient care

If you are admitted as an inpatient at our Kingston General Hospital site, you may be given a room on one of the Medicine floors, which include Connell 3, Connell 9, Connell 10, or Kidd 9. If you are looking to locate an patient who has been admitted to the hospital you can read more on our find a patient page.

As an inpatient, you will receive care from a health-care team that is made up of a number of different individuals. Who is on your team depends on the type of care you require. These interprofessional teams will always include doctors and nurses, but other individuals such as patient care assistants, occupational therapists, physiotherapists and dietitians, just to name a few, may also be involved in your care. As a patient in this service you will also likely be seen by a gastroenterologist who is a doctor that specializes in this area of medicine. When you are at the KGH site, you can always count on a range of people to play a key role in your health-care journey. If you would like more information on the types of people you may meet in the Medicine Program, please visit our care team page.

If you would like more information on what to expect if you are admitted as an inpatient at the KGH site, please see our 'while you are here' page.

Outpatient care

As an outpatient, you may be attending a Gastroenterology Clinic located at our Hotel Dieu Hospital site. This clinic receives patients for general gastrointestinal care as well as offers specialized clinics for liver, hepatitis, inflammatory bowel disease, motility and a pediatric gastrointestinal clinic. To be seen in this clinic, you must be referred by your doctor, or another health-care professional.